Graduate student receives CETL Outstanding Teaching Award

student receiving award

Phanuel Mariano, a graduate student in mathematics, received the 2018 Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award from the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL). This is a university-wide award, including the regional campuses, that honors Teaching Assistants who have gone well beyond the call of duty to affect the student learning and experience for undergraduate students at UConn.

The Outstanding Graduate Teaching Awards were established in 1999 to recognize teaching assistants who demonstrate excellence in the classroom or laboratory. Nominees for this award must demonstrate effective instructional skills, possess excellent interpersonal skills, provide practical feedback, and contribute to the development of the instructional program.

Above, Phanuel Mariano, center, is pictured at the CETL awards reception, with math department head Ambar Sengupta, left, and Phanuel’s advisor and math department associate head, Maria Gordina, right.

Congratulations, Phanuel!

Lan-Hsuan Huang Huang and Damin Wu receive appointments at IAS; Prof. Huang awarded Simons and von Neumann Fellowships

Professors Lan-Hsuan Huang and Damin Wu have been appointed as members of the Institute for Advanced Study (IAS) in Princeton during the academic year 2018-2019. The membership will provide support for Professors Huang and Wu to spend a sabbatical year participating in the IAS special year program on Variational Methods in Geometry.

Professor Huang’s tenure at IAS will be supported by a von Neumann Fellowship. The highly selective von Neumann fellowship program supports early-career mathematicians as members at IAS for a year.

In addition, Professor Huang is one of the 2018 Simons Fellows in Mathematics. The Simons fellowship will provide additional sabbatical funding to support Professor Huang’s research proposal “Geometry of General Relativity,” allowing her to extend her sabbatical leave to the full academic year 2018-2019.

Students presenting at MAA Student Poster Session

Raji Majumdar and Anthony Sisti, both majors in mathematics, will be presenting posters Applications of Multiplicative LLN and CLT for Random Matrices and Black-Scholes using the Central Limit Theorem on Friday, January 12 at the MAA Student Poster Session, and both of them will be giving talks on Saturday, January 13 at the AMS Contributed Paper Session on Research in Applied Mathematics by Undergraduate and Post-Baccalaureate Students. You can find their posters here.