Month: April 2009

Graduate student Oscar Levin wins ITL Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award

Oscar Levin has won the Institute of Teaching and Learning (ITL) Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award for 2009 in recognition of his deep commitment and wide range activities in the service of the Mathematics Department’s teaching mission.
The ITL Outstanding TA Award, established in 1999, is the highest teaching award conferred by the university on a graduate student. Oscar Levin is the third mathematics TA to receive this honor. The previous winners from our department were Regina Speicher in 2004, and Jason Molitierno in 2000.

Eleven math majors inducted into Phi Beta Kappa

Eleven undergraduate math majors were elected on April 7, 2009 to membership in Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest honor society. The students are Yi-Jun Chen, Jason Michael Crowley, Ryan James Esplin, Eric John Forfa, Nicole Lynn Gottier, Caroline Truc Lam, Thomas D. Murawski, Russell G. Nash, Andrew Nelson Phillips, Joseph Alexander Pomianowski, and Linda Tran. They will be initiated into the Society on Sunday, May 3.